Friday, 22 April 2016

Isabella's Reading Corner: Forget Tomorrow



Forget Tomorrow by Pintip Dunn
Published November 3rd 2015 by Entangled: Teen





Forget Tomorrow is the first book in a duology by Pintip Dunn. Callie lives in a world where memories are sent back in time to shape each individual’s future. Soon after Callie receives her future memory in which she kills her beloved younger sister, she is arrested. Callie escapes, but must go on a journey to discover not only why she would commit such a heinous crime, but also to stop her future memory from happening.

The world the author creates is intricate, but not overly complicated. Callie is brave and loyal to her family and those she cares about. The relationship between Callie and her sister, Jessa, is fascinating & I hope will be explored further in the second book. Logan, Callie’s love interest, has an admiration and respect for her - he trusts her more than she does herself. The back story behind their relationship is intriguing and develops realistically.

There are lots of twists and turns and the book is filled with exciting action and adventure. I was anxious to find out the mystery behind the government’s hidden agenda. The actions and motivations of some of the characters are intriguing, with layers still to be revealed. This book gives the reader a lot to think about in terms of how much fate plays a part in our lives.

I’m anxious to read the sequel when It is published in October this year!




From the publisher:
Imagine a world where your destiny has already been decided...by your future self. 

It's Callie's seventeenth birthday and, like everyone else, she's eagerly awaiting her vision -- a memory sent back in time to sculpt each citizen into the person they're meant to be. A world-class swimmer. A renowned scientist. 

Or in Callie's case, a criminal. 

In her vision, she sees herself murdering her gifted younger sister. Before she can process what it means, Callie is arrested and placed in prison. The only person who can help is her childhood crush, Logan, a boy she hasn't spoken to in five years. 

Logan breaks her free, but can she trust him? He's almost the same boy she remembers, but now he's a whole lot hotter. And he's got his own past to deal with. Callie's falling for him, fast, but she soon learns he has secrets of his own. Secrets that mean they can never be together.

Now, Callie's on the run not only from the government, but also from her fate. If she wants any hope of a future with Logan, she must find a way to protect her sister from the biggest threat of all -- herself.


You can read my original Isabella's Reading Corner post on Forget Tomorrow here.

Saturday, 16 April 2016

Review: I'm Thinking of Ending Things




I'm Thinking of Ending Things by Iain Reid
Published June 14th 2016 by Gallery/Scout Press/Simon & Schuster


I'm Thinking of Ending Things takes you on a thrill ride and keeps you riveted the entire journey. From the outset there is a sense of dread, that increases as you turn the pages. A taut, quick read, I was anxious to get to the conclusion, but it still kept me thinking long after I had finished it.

This book is one I definitely recommend - even if you don't enjoy the twisted ride, you will certainly want to discuss it once it's over.


From the publisher:
You will be scared. But you won’t know why…

I’m thinking of ending things. Once this thought arrives, it stays. It’s always there. Always.

Jake and I have a real connection, a rare and intense attachment. What has it been...a month? I’m very attracted to him. Even though he isn’t striking, not really. I’m going to meet his parents for the first time, at the same time as I’m thinking of ending things.

Jake once said, “Sometimes a thought is closer to truth, to reality, than an action. You can say anything, you can do anything, but you can’t fake a thought.”

And here’s what I’m thinking: I don’t want to be here.

I’m thinking of ending things.

A woman embarks on a first road trip with her boyfriend, Jake, amidst doubts and questions of commitment. When the two take an unexpected detour, she is stranded in a deserted high school, wondering if there is any escape at all. In this suspenseful literary debut, Iain Reid explores the depths of the human psyche, questioning consciousness, free will, the value of relationships, fear, and the limitations of solitude. Tense, gripping, and atmospheric, this novel will haunt you long after the last page is turned.

Saturday, 9 April 2016

Anticipated Reads for April 2016



Anticipated Reads for April

Here is a list of the books I am most looking forward to reading that are published this month. Are any of the titles on your upcoming reads list? Please let me know what you are planning to read in the comments below!




When We Collided by Emery Lord 
Published April 5th by Bloomsbury USA Childrens

Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.




The Mirror King (Orphan Queen) by Jodi Meadows
Published April 5th by Katherine Tegen Books

In this stunning conclusion to The Orphan Queen, Jodi Meadows follows Wilhelmina’s breathtaking and brave journey from orphaned criminal on the streets to magic-wielding queen.




Tell the Wind and Fire by Sarah Rees Brennan
Published April 5th by Clarion Books

Celebrated author Sarah Rees Brennan weaves a magical tale of romance and revolution, love and loss.




The Passion of Dolssa by Julie Berry
Published April 12th by Viking Books for Young Readers

From the author of the award-winning All the Truth That's in Me comes a spellbinding thriller that will keep you on the edge of your seat until the final page and make you wonder if miracles really are possible.




Dreamology by Lucy Keating
Published April 12th by HarperTeen

Vibrantly offbeat and utterly original, Lucy Keating’s debut novel combines the unconventional romance of Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with the sweetness and heart of Jenny Han.




This is the Story of You by Beth Kephart
Published April 12th by Chronicle Books

Gripping and poetic, This Is the Story of You is about the beauty of nature and the power of family, about finding hope in the wake of tragedy and recovery in the face of overwhelming loss.




The Darkest Corners by Kara Thomas
Published April 19th by Delacorte Press

For fans of Gillian Flynn’s Dark Places and Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars, The Darkest Corners is a psychological thriller about the lies little girls tell, and the deadly truths those lies become.




There Once Were Stars by Melanie McFarlane 
Published April 26th by Month9Books, LLC 

Peace. Love. Order. Dome. That’s the motto that the Order has given the residents of Dome 1618 to live by. Natalia Greyes is a resident of Dome 1618, a covered city protected from the deadly radiation that has poisoned the world outside for four generations. Nat never questioned the Order, until one day she sees a stranger on the outside of her dome. Now Nat wants answers. What else might her government be hiding from the good and loyal people of Dome 1618?




Heir to the Sky by Amanda Sun
Published April 26th by Harlequin Teen

As heir to a kingdom of floating continents, Kali has spent her life bound by limits: by her duties as a member of the royal family, by a forced betrothal to the son of a nobleman, and by the edge of the only world she's ever known—a small island hovering above a monster-ridden earth, long since uninhabited by humans. She is the Eternal Flame of Hope for what's left of mankind, the wick and the wax burning in service for her people, and for their revered Phoenix, whose magic keeps them aloft. 




The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian 
Published April 26th by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers 

From the critically acclaimed author of The List comes a stunning new novel about a girl who must say goodbye to everything she knows after a storm wreaks havoc on her hometown.




Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel
Published April 26th by Del Rey

A page-turning debut in the tradition of Michael Crichton, World War Z, and The Martian, Sleeping Giants is a thriller fueled by an earthshaking mystery—and a fight to control a gargantuan power.




The Star-Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi
Published April 26th by St. Martin's Griffin

A lush and vivid story that is steeped in Indian folklore and mythology. The Star-Touched Queen is a novel that no reader will soon forget.




The Rose & the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn) by Renée Ahdieh
Published April 26th by G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers

The much anticipated sequel to the breathtaking The Wrath and the Dawn, lauded by Publishers Weekly as "a potent page-turner of intrigue and romance."